top of page

A little salt, please.

Colossians 5:5-6 "(5) Walk in wisdom toward outsiders, making the best use of the time.(6) Let your speech always be gracious, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how you ought to answer each person."

***

More than not I feel that often times we forget to "season" our speech towards others. I'm not talking about being artificial, or a soothsayer, but rather taking into consideration the needs of those we are communicating with. That is what I got from this passage as well-- "so that you may know how you ought to answer each person."

Everyone is different, their situations, their processing style, etc. Sometimes I think in trying to counteract the mindset of "Just be nice to eveyoneeee, lah lah lahhhhhh!" One can find themselves being too extreme on the other end, too-- example: "Listen, I don't care about your 'feelings'."

Ask yourself, why am I acting this way? Am I on the one extreme or the other? Is this due to a bad situation I had? Am I trying to be too "real" or maybe too "accepting" but my hearts not really in it, thus making me artificial anyway? Big questions.

What I am starting to gather, at least a little bit, is that instead of pretending feelings and actions towards others don't matter, or matter too much, we must confront our true hearts. After doing that we begin to see where we have to start on our journey towards wisdom, kindness, and a Christ-first life.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page