top of page

Here's To The Mixed Kids

Here’s to the mixed kids

The assimilate-or-dip, kids

The ‘what’s your dad and what’s your mom and where do you belong?’, kids

Where one of the deepest fears

The one that fills our eyes with tears

Is you don’t belong here

No

You don’t belong here either

Now how does that work when I get multiple perspectives

I’m constantly receptive

I work hard so I don’t threaten

you

Or you

And, I try to hold myself to truth but that’s really hard to do

I mean especially when everything is saying to be the “real you”

But that “real you” is 1 or 2

Not 2.5 or 1.9

It’s 1 or it’s 2 and that’s not you

But hey there mixed kid

Here’s a ray of sunshine

(They lied.)

I promise you it’s okay that you’re a 2.2 or a 1.9

Those different angles that you see

That unique experience that you bring

It’s needed in the world today

So show em, do your thing.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page